funding · Sunshine Coast Council
Sunshine Coast budget review locks in capital changes, debt policy and levy framework
The amended 2026 - 27 budget passed 7 - 2, but the decision does not state how rates or utility charges will change overall.
Sunshine Coast ratepayers will have new capital works and financial settings for 2026 - 27 after councillors approved the first budget review in a 7 - 2 vote. Cr C Dickson and Cr D Law opposed the package.
The review adopts amended financial statements for 2026 - 27 and the following two financial years, covering income and expenses, financial position, changes in equity, cash flow and the Capital Works Program.
It also includes a 10-year long-term financial forecast, financial sustainability measures and the 2026 - 27 Amended Debt Policy.
Councillors approved amendments to the Minor Capital Works Program, with associated capital works deferrals included in the budget package. The individual projects affected are not identified in the decision.
The financial framework includes the Revenue Policy, Revenue Statement and documentation covering rates and charges. It also includes the Strategic Environment Levy Policy, Strategic Arts and Heritage Levy Policy, Strategic Transport Levy Policy and Prescribed Services Charge Plan No. 4 for 2026 - 27.
The rates and utility charges documentation includes the percentage change in charges compared with those levied in the previous budget. However, no overall percentage or dollar change is stated in the material for the review, leaving no single figure from the vote showing how residents’ rates or utility charges will change.
The amended budget was approved at Sunshine Coast Council’s ordinary meeting on 17 September 2026. It sets the council’s financial framework for the year, including capital works timing, debt settings, rates and utility charges, and strategic levies.
Reference minutes
Sunshine Coast Council’s Ordinary Meeting held on 17 September 2026.
Key facts from the minutes
- The first 2026 - 27 budget review was adopted by Sunshine Coast Council.
- The vote was carried 7 - 2, with Cr C Dickson and Cr D Law voting against.
- The package includes a 10-year long-term financial forecast and the 2026 - 27 Amended Debt Policy.
- Amendments were approved for the Minor Capital Works Program, with associated capital works deferrals noted.
- The package includes rates and utility charges documentation, revenue policies and three strategic levy policies.
- The decision does not state an overall rates or utility-charge percentage or dollar change.
Why it matters
- The review sets Sunshine Coast Council’s 2026 - 27 spending, capital works, debt, rates, utility-charge and strategic-levy framework. The decision does not provide an overall dollar or percentage change for rates or utility charges.